WISTA Cyprus celebrates 10th anniversary, elects new Board of Directors


At its Annual General Meeting, held on 23rd November 2022, in Limassol, WISTA Cyprus resumed its activities over the past year, which marked the association’s 10th anniversary, and elected a new Board of Directors (pictured). Since its incorporation in 2012, WISTA Cyprus has been a key stakeholder in the Cypriot shipping sector, promoting inclusion and diversity in the industry and providing its members with a professional networking and development platform.

The AGM was addressed by Shipping Deputy Minister, Mr. Vassilios Demetriades, who reaffirmed the Shipping Deputy Ministry’s support of WISTA Cyprus’ vision. WISTA Cyprus President, Mrs Anna Vourgos, delivered the President’s Report for 2022 which showcased the association’s commitment to continue providing opportunities for its members but also to further enhance relations with other organisations and encourage knowledge sharing.

Tribute was paid to WISTA Cyprus’ founding members: Despina Panayiotou Theodosiou, Jane Melas, Martina Meinders, Sonia Ajini, Viktoria Kostic-Nola, Yvonne Tsanos, Ioanna Kyriakou. Their vision, commitment, hard work and dedication has allowed WISTA Cyprus to create solid foundations which future members may build on and take WISTA Cyprus further ahead.

Further highlights of the AGM included the bestowment of special edition awards to the Shipping Deputy Ministry and the Cyprus Shipping Chamber for their active support to WISTA Cyprus, since its inception, as well as to Deloitte and INCE for their support of the association’s work and services provided to the association over the years.

Outgoing Board members Anna Vourgos (President), Koula Louca (Vice President) and Marilena Morphaki (Board Member) were presented with gifts for their exceptional contributions to the board of WISTA Cyprus throughout their term.

Following the AGM the new Board of Directors of WISTA CYPRUS for 2022-2023 comprises as follows: Natalia Bury Loyal , Chief Governance Officer, Tototheo Maritime (President); Uta Steffen, MD, Saltgate Shipmanagement (Cyprus) Ltd (vice-President); Georgia Demetriou, Legal Counsel, OSM Maritime Group (Secretary General); Monica Potsou, HR Manager, P&O Maritime Logistics (Cyprus) (Tresurer); Emanolia Kolias, Channel Director, Mintra; Maria Theodosiou, MD, GenPro; Rafaella Yiangou, Business Development Manager, Cyprus Marine and Maritime Institute (CMMI).