Winners announced for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2014


An international audience of maritime industry experts and innovators gathered together to celebrate the winners of the inaugural Ship Efficiency Awards on 2nd October 2014.

The awards followed two days of lively discussion and debate during the 4th annual Ship Efficiency: The Event in London. The Ship Efficiency Awards, organised by Fathom and hosted with event partner Lloyd’s Register, showcased a broad range of individuals and companies committed to streamlining operations and shaping the future towards a greener and more efficient industry.

Arsenio Dominguez, Chairman of the IMO MEPC, officially opened the awards encouraging the audience to embrace technologies in order to stay competitive in the current market environment. “We know that we have a very effective shipping transport sector, but we have competition from all sides, in a very competitive transport industry. We keep hearing about how environmental awareness is increasing, how we have to increase safety and security and this becomes a challenge for our industry.

“But the reality is that this is nothing new, it happens all the time and we have to face competition every year, every hour.” “Why not take into account all the effort, all the investment, all the time that goes into R&D and embrace technology and innovation and use it in a way to move forward towards that outcome that we all share – better environmental protection, a very competitive and efficient market, safe and secure ships on clean oceans. It is events like this that bring us all together to share our experiences to achieve this.”

The winners for each category of the Ship Efficiency Awards 2014 are:

The Energy Efficiency Solution Award, sponsored by Simplex Turbulo – Winner: Eniram for Eniram Speed 2.0

“At Eniram we work very hard to get to the forefront of technology and to push the boundaries. This is a fantastic recognition for us and we thank you.” Nick Pinkney, Sales Director, EMEA, Eniram Environmental

Technology Award, sponsored by Inmarsat – Winner: Hempel AS for Hempaguard

“We are proud and delighted that HEMPAGUARD has been recognised by the expert judges on the Shipping Efficiency Award panel as an environmental leader. HEMPAGUARD is a completely new technology that combines the best of both worlds: the smooth, fuel-efficient surface from silicone coatings and the durable protection against fouling known from antifoulings. Apart from the fuel efficiency benefits of using HEMPAGUARD, it also allows operators up to 120 days idle…” said Claes Skat-Roerdam, Marketing Manager, Hempel.

Initiative of the Year sponsored by Sailors’ Society – Winner: Corvus Energy for Scandlines Hybrid Ferries “We are very proud to be honoured with this, it is fantastic. At Scandlines, with the Corvus product we believe we have found a new way to save energy for the future,” said Fini A. Hansen, Technical Superintendent, Fleet Management, Scandlines Danmark ApS

Sustainable Ship Operator of the Year sponsored by Marorka – Winner: Maersk Line.

“We are delighted to be recognised for our commitment to sustainable shipping. We have made significant reductions in our CO2 emissions over the last year, and this award is dedicated to our employees and customers who support our efforts,” said Signe Jensen, Head of Sustainability, Maersk Line.

The One to Watch sponsored by the UK Chamber of Shipping – Winner: B9 Shipping.

“We have been very fortuitous to work with tremendous collaborators and I would like to thank all of the parties who have contributed to B9 Shipping. We have had support from academic institutions, large corporate companies and other SMEs, making it the most exciting part of building a 100% renewably powered sailing ship,” said Diane Gilpin, Director, B9 Shipping

The final category of the Ship Efficiency Awards, the ‘Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency’ award, recognised individuals pioneering innovation and environmental protection in the maritime industry. The winner of the award was voted for by the general public via the website over the last couple of weeks.

Outstanding Contribution to Ship Efficiency Award sponsored by Fathom – Winner: Dr Anne-Marie Warris – Ecoreflect “Thank you everyone who voted and everyone who I have worked with in the past. This is a great shock and I am very honoured to have been voted for this award,” said Dr Anne-Marie Warris, Ecoreflect.

Catherine Austin, Director of Fathom, said: “We are absolutely delighted with the response the Ship Efficiency Awards has received from the maritime community in its first year and offer our congratulations to not only the winners and all finalists, but to all of those that submitted entries for the awards. The quantity and quality of all entries received truly shows that the shipping industry is one that is committed to becoming more efficient, innovative, greener and a leader in the transportation sector.”

A panel of high level industry experts across shipping and environmental issues deliberated and scored entries based on set criteria against each of the award categories and included: Peter Hinchliffe OBE, International Chamber of Shipping; Craig Eason, Lloyd’s List; Minas Miliaras, RCL Cruises; Lars Robert Pedersen, BIMCO; Jan de Kat, ABS and Dr Martin Stopford, Clarkson Research Services. Entries for the Ship Efficiency Awards 2015 will open in February 2015.