Shortlists announced for International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards


The International Seafarers’ Welfare Awards, aimed at show-casing best practice in seafarers’ welfare in the maritime industry, will take place on 7th April 2014 at the International Labour Organisation in Geneva.

The organisers of the Awards, the International Seafarers’ Welfare Assistance Network (ISWAN), have announced the short list of finalists for the Awards:

Shipping Company of the Year: BW Maritime Pte.Ltd, Singapore; China Navigation Co. Pte Ltd, Singapore; Royal Caribbean Cruises Ltd, USA; Shell Shipping, UK; Wallem Ship Management, Hong Kong

Port of the Year: Port of Antwerp; Kandla Port; Paradip Port; Port of Singapore; Port of Venice.

Seafarer Centre of the Year: Duckdalben International Seamen’s Club, Germany; Durban Seafarers Mission, South Africa; The Flying Angel Club Fremantle, Australia; Seamen’s Club Welcome Bremerhaven, Germany; Odessa Charity “Seamen’s Home”, Ukraine; Stella Maris Sriracha Seafarer’s Centre, Thailand.

Welfare Personality of the Year: Alan John Mower, Australia; Rev Paul Noel, South Africa; Ms Ruth Setaro, USA; Ms Apinya Tajit, Thailand

The Seafarer Centre of the Year, Port of The Year and Shipping Company of the Year were all nominated directly by seafarers. The award for Welfare Personality of the Year is self-nominated, nominated by seafarers’ organisations or individuals involved with seafarers’ welfare.

The winners will be announced at a high profile awards ceremony hosted by the Director General of the International Labour Organisation,  Guy Ryder at the International Labour Organisation in Geneva on Monday 7th April 2014.

Roger Harris, ISWAN’s Executive Director, said: “These awards are about celebrating the work of those companies, organisations, and individuals that go the extra mile to ensure the health and well-being of seafarers. We are privileged to be holding the awards event at the ILO in Geneva in April.”

The judging panel for the awards is: Masamichi Morooka, President of the International Shipping Federation and International Chamber of Shipping; Dr Cleopatra Doumbia-Henry, Director of the International Labour Standards Department, the International Labour Organisation ILO; Steve Cotton, Acting General Secretary the International Transport Workers’ Federation (ITF); Fr Bruno Cesari, Chairman of the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA).

The Awards are generously funded by the ITF Seafarers’ Trust. The Awards are also supported & endorsed by the International Labour Organisation (ILO), the International Maritime Organisation (IMO), the International Transport Workers’ Federation (ITF), the International Shipping Federation (ISF), and the International Christian Maritime Association (ICMA). The International Shipping Federation (ISF) is sponsoring the Welfare Personality of the Year Award and Wrist Ship Supply is sponsoring the Seafarer Centre of the Year Award. The media sponsor of the Awards are Crewtoo, part of the KVH Media Group.

Further information about the awards can be found at