Seafarers’ House to honour Royal Caribbean’s President at 2018 Golden Compass Gala

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Michael Bayley, President and CEO of Royal Caribbean International, has been selected as the recipient of Seafarers’ House International Golden Compass Award for 2018.

The award is given each year to those who have achieved distinction in the maritime world, those whose vocation or avocation has been the sea, or those who have ministered to or otherwise assisted seafarers.

Mr Bayley has been with Royal Caribbean Cruises for 30 years, working in a variety of shipboard and shoreside positions with increasing management responsibility. Before assuming the role of president and CEO of Royal Caribbean International in 2014, he was president and CEO of Celebrity Cruises, where he is credited with building the company’s ‘Modern Luxury’ brand.

He also has served as Executive Vice President of Operations for Royal Caribbean International, where he oversaw the brand’s Hotel Operations; Marine Operations for Royal Caribbean International and Azamara Club Cruises; Land Operations for Royal Caribbean International, Celebrity Cruises and Azamara Club Cruises, and Commercial Development for RCL.

Prior to that, Mr Bayley served as RCL’s Executive Vice President, International, where he was responsible for the strategic international business development of three of the company’s cruise lines: Azamara Club Cruises, Celebrity Cruises and Royal Caribbean International.

“Seafarers’ House plays a critical role in the lives of those who work in the maritime industry. Many of our crew members have come to rely on the organization and consider its “casa” their home away from home when docked at Port Everglades,” said Mr Bayley.

“I am pleased to be counted among the distinguished group of maritime professionals who have received this award over the years from an organization that truly cares for the seafaring community.”

Past Golden Compass award recipients include: Jan Swartz, Group President of Princess Cruises and Carnival Australia; artist, philanthropist and entrepreneur Guy Harvey; President and CEO of Resolve Marine Group, Joseph Farrell; international seafaring hero Captain Richard Phillips; Roberto Giorgi, V.Ships; Dan Sten Olsson, Stena Sphere; Adam Goldstein, Royal Caribbean International; Stein Kruse, Holland America Line; Captain Nicola Arena, MSC Cruises; and Thomas B. Crowley, Jr., Crowley Maritime Corp., among others.

“Michael has had a long and successful career with Royal Caribbean. Under his leadership, the cruise line has grown significantly and will continue to do so with the addition of several new ships in the next few years,” said Seafarers’ House Executive Director Lesley Warrick.

“Michael and Royal Caribbean have been long-time supporters of Seafarers’ House and we are thrilled to honour him with this award.”

This year’s annual Golden Compass Gala is being held on 19th May, 2018, at the Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six in Fort Lauderdale.