Next generation of ocean talent revealed in shortlist for Nor-Shipping Young Entrepreneur Award 2023


Nor-Shipping, in partnership with YoungShip International, has announced the final four talented individuals set to battle it out for this year’s Young Entrepreneur Award.

The four are: Capt. Alexandra Hagerty (pictured), the Founder of Captains Without Borders; André Risholm, Founder & CEO, Amon Maritime; Christina Aleixendri Munos, Co-founder and CEO, Bound4Blue; and Danielle Southcott, Founder, Veer Corporation. They will now compete for the prestigious accolade, with the winner announced at the Nor-Shipping Opening Ceremony on 5 June at Oslo City Hall.

The shortlisted group, all of whom must be under 40 years of age, were selected by an expert industry panel based on an ability to turn challenges into business opportunities, create jobs, enhance efficiency, adopt best practices, and address sustainability issues.
Amongst a highly competitive international field, Nor-Shipping Director Sidsel Norvik says the quartet stood out thanks not only to business acumen, but also their “passion for building a better future for maritime and the ocean environment”.

Capt. Alexandra Hagerty, from the US, founded Captains Without Borders with the mission of encouraging and enabling greater diversity within maritime, supporting female cadets from under-represented groups as they aim to build future careers on the bridge.

Canadian Danielle Southcott is the founder of Veer Corporation, an organisation with the ambitious goal of deploying the first clean container ship to cross an ocean, powered by wind and green hydrogen.
Wind is also a focus for Bound4Blue’s Christina Aleixendri Munos, a Spanish company that aims to bring the renewable energy source to the wider industry with a breakthrough, automated turnkey solution.

Clean shipping is the shared passion of the final nominee, Norway’s André Risholm, who is developing what has been hailed as the world’s first carbon free shipping company, based on the concept that ammonia fuel will propel maritime’s “zero emission revolution”.

“This is such an exciting group of future industry stars, each of whom have built organisations around novel approaches to issues that long-established players have been struggling to tackle, often for many years,” adds Lene Osen Osnes, Secretary General, YoungShip International.

This year’s victor will join an alumni of previous winners that includes Boyan Slat, Founder of Ocean Cleanup; Brim Explorer’s Agnes Árnadóttir and Espen Larsen-Hakkebo; and last year’s title holder Christiaan Nijst, Founder & Director, Value Maritime.