IBIA elects new Chair and Board of Directors


The International Bunker Industry Association (IBIA) announces its newly elected leadership team to drive the Association’s strategic initiatives and represent the interests of its members. globally.ffective 1 April 2024 the following individuals will serve as members of the IBIA Board of Directors.

Please join IBIA in welcoming Constantinos Capetanakis, Adrian Tolson and Nigel Draffin to their officers’ roles.

Constantinos Capetanakis (pictured) of Star Bulk assumes the role of IBIA Chair. He joined Star Bulk in 2014, serving as General Manager of a number of private vessels and subsequently as Executive Vice President – Control Director of the group’s procurement arm, Ship Procurement Services SA. Since 2019 Constantinos is serving as Star Bulk’s Bunker Director, responsible for bunkering procurement / strategy and Star Bulk’s cooperation with bunker industry stakeholders.
Vice Chair is Adrian Tolson, owner of 2050 Marine Energy and widely recognised as one of the shipping industry’s leading marine energy experts. With more than 35 years of experience, he has both detailed knowledge and unique insight into the bunker supply chain and its many related infrastructure developments.

Nigel Draffin, Consultant, becomes Hon. Treasurer. With a career starting at sea as an engineer for Shell in 1966 and transitioning ashore in 1979, he has contributed extensively to the maritime and bunker industry, as well as a founder and former chairman (2012) and Treasurer (2022) of IBIA. He has also authored 13 books on Bunkering and Shipping and is an esteemed speaker at industry conferences.

Newly elected Board Members are:
• Ufuk Erinc, CEO, Unerco Petrol Urunleri Denizcilik ve Ticaret A.S
• Deanna MacDonald, CEO, BunkerTrace Ltd (UK)
• Maria Skipper Schwenn, Director of Regulatory and Public Affairs, Bunker Holding Group
Continuing Board Members:
• Eugenia Benavides Buitrago, Marine Fuels Director, Terpel S.A.
• Claudia Beumer, Owner, C4 fuel BV
• Rahul Choudhuri, President of Strategic Partnerships, Veritas Petroleum Services (Asia) Pte Ltd
• Timothy Cosulich, CEO, Fratelli Cosulich
• Jeroen de Vos, Head of Quality, Peninsula
• Colin Holloway, Global Head Technical, Cockett Marine Oil
• Paul Maclons, Chair, AMSOL Board of Directors, African Marine Solutions Group (Pty) Ltd
• Valeria Sessa, CEO, ReSeaWorld s.r.l
• Anna Stefanou, Finance and Credit Manager, PMG Holding
Constantinos Capetanakis stated: “I am greatly honoured to be IBIA’s Chair and excited for the times ahead, being determined to lead the Association to further global growth and visibility throughout the entire shipping community.”

This group of individuals bring a wealth of knowledge, experience, and dedication to their roles, and IBIA is confident that under their leadership, the Association will continue to flourish and advance the interests of the bunker industry worldwide.