Finalists announced for Wind Propulsion Innovations Awards 2016


1287778The International Windship Association (IWSA) has announced the shortlist, selected by shipping industry experts, for the inaugural Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards 2016 and voting is now open to everyone to select the winners in three categories – Innovation, Technology User and Research.

The Lifetime Achievement Award is a closed vote for IWSA members. The Awards will be presented at a ceremony at the SMM2016 on 8th September 2016 in Hamburg.

The Wind Propulsion Innovation Awards were launched by IWSA to recognise pioneering projects and technological innovation in the development of wind propulsion for technically and commercially viable solutions for different vessels across the maritime industry. The awards spotlight individuals and companies making a real difference in advancing wind propulsion as a low carbon, sustainable solution for the world’s shipping fleet.

IWSA received a large number of nominations for these inaugural awards, underlining the immense effort and innovation in the development of wind propulsion solutions in the industry.

The award shortlist was independently judged by a panel of industry experts, wind propulsion specialists and researchers including; Alistair Fischbacher – CEO, Sustainable Shipping Initiative, Dr Pierre C Sames – DNV GL, Catherine Austin – Editor, Shipping Efficiency Review, Craig Eason – Deputy Editor, Lloyds List, Katharine Palmer –Lloyd’s Register Marine, Gavin Lispith – Editor, Motorships, Dimitris Argyos – BG Group, Gary A. McIntyre – J.Lauritzen A/S, Dr. Jasper Faber (PhD) – CE Delft, Dr Michael Traut – Tyndall Centre, Manchester University, Capt Michael Vahs– Emden Leer University, Dr Nishatabbas Rehmatulla – UCL Energy Institute. Prof Orestis Schinas – Hamburg School of Business Administration (HSBA), Prof Osman Turan- University of Strathclyde, Peter Schenzle – Wind propulsion specialist, Sam Kimmins & Sara Skold- Sustainable Transport Consultants

Gavin Allwright, IWSA Secretary said: “We are really pleased by both the number and high quality of the nominations we have received. This is testament to the growth of interest in wind propulsion solutions across the industry and the innovative, pioneering spirit of the project teams dedicated to bringing these low carbon technologies to market.”

The first three categories give the industry the opportunity to vote from today until 15th August. Vote for your winner now at

The full awards shortlisted finalists are: Wind Propulsion in Commercial Shipping – Innovation Award sponsored by International Naval Surveys Bureau (INSB Class): Oceanfoil; E-ship1; Smart Green Shipping Alliance; Norsepower Oy Ltd; S@IL project – Ecoliner; UT Windchallenger.

Wind Propulsion Technology User Award sponsored by The Sustainable Shipping Initiative (SSI): Enercon – E-ship 1; Bore Shipping – Norsepower Rotors; Solar Sailor – Ocius Technology Ltd – the Rigid Opening Sail; Fair Transport – Traditional Sail Cargo.

Wind Propulsion Research Award sponsored by Norsepower Oy Ltd: Maritime Research Institute Netherlands (M ARIN) team; S@IL project team; University of South Pacific – Sustainable Sea Transport Programme; University College London (UCL) – Energy Institute team; Technical University Delft team; University of Strathclyde team.

Special Award: Lifetime Achievement Award sponsored by Hamburg School of Business Administration (HSBA): Anton Flettner – Flettner Rotor; Dr Robert Dane – Ocius Technology Ltd – the Rigid Opening Sail; Capt Jacques Cousteau – Turbosail; Wilhelm Proelss and Bernd Wagner – Windship Research &Dynarig.

The voting for the special lifetime achievement award is restricted to IWSA members and associates.

For further information about the shortlisted projects and research programs, the International Windship Association (IWSA) booth and presentation schedule at SMM2016 or commercial wind propulsion in general, please visit the IWSA website