ISWAN calls on Port of Odessa to reconsider closing seafarer centre

The International Seafarers’ Welfare and Assistance Network (ISWAN) has called on the Port of Odessa to reconsider its decision to close down its seafarer centre. The seafarer centre, Odessa Seamen’s Club, closed its doors last week after being required to move by the port authority in Odessa. The centre has been in the port since […]

HullWiper supports efforts to combat marine biofouling in Mauritian waters

Change is the simple answer to the “environmental emergency” presented by marine biofouling and the transfer of invasive species. That’s the message HullWiper Managing Director Simon Doran has for the Mauritian maritime community. Mauritius is one of 12 countries spearheading the International Marine Organisation (IMO) GloFouling Project, a collaboration with the Global Environment Facility (GEF), […]

ABS Chairman, President and CEO Named International Personality of the Year

ABS Chairman, President and CEO Christopher J. Wiernicki received the International Personality of the Year Award at the 15th Annual Lloyd’s List Greek Shipping Awards last night. “I am deeply honoured to be recognised by the Greek shipping industry,” said Mr Wiernicki. “It is very humbling to accept this award on behalf of the millions […]

UK Hydrographic Office appoints Rear Admiral Tim Lowe CBE as Acting Chief Executive

The UK Hydrographic Office has announced the appointment of Rear Admiral Tim Lowe CBE, the current UK National Hydrographer and Deputy Chief Executive, to the position of Acting Chief Executive and Accounting Officer. Rear Admiral Lowe will fill the role whilst a permanent replacement is sought for John Humphrey, the current Chief Executive and Accounting […]

Rescue diver from China who saved three recognised with IMO bravery accolade

A rescue diver from China who made a series of underwater dives to rescue three people from a sunken cargo ship, received the 2018 IMO Award for Exceptional Bravery at Sea during the this year’s IMO Awards ceremony (6th December). Zhong Haifeng, senior diver and deputy of the Engineering Team of Guangzhou Salvage was recognised […]

International Maritime Prize presented to Birgit Sølling Olsen

The prestigious International Maritime Prize for 2017 has been presented to Mrs. Birgit Sølling Olsen, former Deputy Director-General of the Danish Maritime Authority. IMO Secretary-General Kitack Lim presented the prize on Thursday (6th December) at the annual IMO Awards ceremony, “Mrs Olsen has had a distinguished career in the maritime field and made an outstanding […]

BIMCO publishes two 2020 sulphur clauses

BIMCO has published two sulphur content related bunker clauses which are now available on the BIMCO website and on SmartCon, BIMCO’s contract editing solution. The two clauses are: BIMCO 2020 Marine Sulphur Content Clause for Time Charter Parties; BIMCO 2020 Fuel Transition Clause for Time Charter Parties. “The subcommittee’s objective has been to create clauses […]

Indian Register of Shipping wins two prestigious awards at separate ceremonies

Leading classification society Indian Register of Shipping (IRClass), won ‘Classification Society of the Year’ award at the Samudra Manthan Awards ceremony on 5 December, and on another occasion, the ‘Indywood Excellence Award for Professional Achievement – Class Compliance’ was bestowed upon Mr. Suresh Sinha, Managing Director of IRClass, recognising his efforts towards the development of […]