Øivind Lorentzen, III named Connecticut Maritime Association 2012 Commodore

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

Øivind Lorentzen, III, Chief Executive Officer of SEACOR Holdings, an owner and operator of marine and aviation assets, has been confirmed as the Connecticut Maritime Association (CMA) Commodore 2012 – following a long succession of industry leaders who’ve held the coveted role since the trade show and conference began 27 years ago.

The award is reserved only for those who have made an invaluable contribution to the growth and development of the maritime industry and as is traditional, will be presented to Mr Lorentzen during the CMA Gala Dinner on March 21, 2012.

Having served as Chief Executive Officer of SEACOR Holdings since September 2010, Mr Lorentzen was first appointed to the SEACOR Board in 2001 and served on the Audit Committee from 2002 to 2010; as Chairman of the Audit Committee from 2004 to 2010; on the Nominating and Corporate Governance Committee from 2004 to 2010; and as Lead Director from 2005 to 2010.

In 1990, Mr Lorentzen began a 10-year role as President of Northern Navigation America, an investment management and shipowning agency based in Stamford, Connecticut (the home of CMA), concentrating in specialised marine transportation and ship finance. From 1979 to 1990, Mr Lorentzen was Managing Director of Lorentzen Empreendimentos, an industrial and shipping group in Brazil and served on its Board of Directors until December 2005.

Mr Lorentzen was Chairman of NFC Shipping Funds, a leading private equity fund in the maritime industry, from 2000 to 2008 and is also a director of Blue Danube, an inland marine service provider, and a director of Genessee & Wyoming, an owner and operator of short line and regional freight railroads.

Beth Wilson-Jordan, President of CMA, upon making the announcement, stated: “Mr Lorentzen has a distinguished position within the international maritime industry. We are very fortunate that he built so much of his career in the CMA’s own backyard and has through the years contributed time and time again to the Association’s education efforts, conference and the general growth of our community.

“He did all that while focused on the growth of his own businesses, those he serves on the Board of, and like so many in his esteemed family, for the improvement of the industry itself. He brings to SEACOR, a company he served as a Board Member, and a company so well built by Charles Fabrikant and team, an immensely valuable skill set which we are delighted to celebrate this year. Mr Lorentzen joins an elite gathering of leaders who have been honoured in the past as Commodores. We are delighted to have him join our illustrious group of Commodores.”

Former CMA Commodores include: Ole Skaarup, Jacob Stolt-Nielsen, George Livanos, Phil Loree, Thomas Moran, Gregory Hadjieleftheriadis, Helmut Sohmen, Gerhard Kurz, William O’Neil, Richard du Moulin, Per Heidenreich, Mark Saverys, Frank Tsao, Stelios Haji-Ioannou, Peter Georgiopoulos, C. Sean Day, Torben Jensen, Morten Arntzen, John Fredriksen, Capt. Wei Jiafu, Philippe Louis-Dreyfus and in 2011, Angeliki Frangou.